Contests & Awards

Judith Barlow Prize (scroll down to find info)
Judith E. Barlow Prize was started in 2014 and was created in conjunction with History Matters/Back to the Future, an organization that promotes the study and production of women’s plays of the past in colleges and universities and theatres throughout the country and encourages responses to those plays from contemporary playwrights.

Lilly Awards
Created in 2010 by Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, and Theresa Rebeck, the Lilly Awards recognize extraordinary contributions to American theater made by women. The awards are named for Lillian Hellman, a pioneering American playwright who famously said “You need to write like the devil and act like one when necessary”.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s